Motivation, Inspiration and Life

Thought provoking quotes, philosophies, photos and more

Who I am

I am a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW) working in a Community Mental Health agency–and I am a woman on a mission to find happiness and compassion while passing along what I have learned in school, in books, and in life…

3 comments on “Who I am

  1. Shelly
    May 24, 2012

    so glad I found your site (or rather God led me to it!) I too am (going to be) a social worker. I’m in grad school. My dream is to be a therapist working with those who have mental health issues. Mindfulness, meditation, compassion…all things I’m practicing.

    • JenBoudreau
      May 24, 2012

      Awesome- I hope I can help you out and you can help me! There is so much knowledge out there and managing to find it all and have time to obtain it can be daunting when doing it alone!

  2. Shelly
    May 24, 2012

    that’s why I like blogging…the related articles lead me to so many useful links, words, ideas. My therapist facilitates a MBSR (Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction) course which I took in the fall. Twice a month she has an hour of seated meditation at the clinic which I’m just starting to take advantage of. I have seen such a difference in my ability to cope with the fluctuating moods. My stability times are longer…YAY! I practice yoga, seated/walking/body scan meditation, prayer…plus have a whole host of tools in my box to pull out when needed. The trouble is that when heading into hypomania I think I need to use them all at the same time! My brain is just going a mile a minute but I’m learning to slow down, decrease the stimulation, challenge the subsequent self-condemning thoughts. It sure is a process. She reassured me last week when I was crying about my condition and how I would never be able to help anyone that those who experience mental health issues make very good therapists IF they stay on top of their self-care. It’s ok to take mental health (sick) days. How long have you worked in mental health?

thoughts???

Information

This entry was posted on May 2, 2012 by in Personal thoughts....
Follow Motivation, Inspiration and Life on WordPress.com

Top Rated

